Morning Scream

A high-pitched incredulous scream filled the air. It woke me and at first I didn’t know if I was dreaming or not. Then I heard it again.

“What’s wrong?”, I shouted back.

Sue frantically responded, “there’s a rat in the toilet and I nearly sat down on it”.

I really didn’t believe her, but I rushed up to check it out. I opened the lid of the toilet and sure enough there was a water-soaked rat staring up at me with snarling teeth. I closed the lid, so it couldn’t get out and flushed the toilet a couple of times, hoping it would go back to wherever it came. No such luck. A lot of splashing and squealing later, I returned with a pair of tongs. All good cooks have a pair of tongs handy for emergencies. I didn’t want to try to grab it with my hands in case it had rabies and I got bit.  It was wreathing and squirming as I grabbed its tail. I ran to the front door and threw it down the hillside outside the guest house we affectionately called “the shack”. It scampered off and we settled down to a cup of coffee and a good laugh.

Two days later it was back. Same toilet, same look! How did it get back in there I wondered? Unless, it was the brother of the first one. Same pair of tongs and same hillside run. I really hoped this would be the end of our rat encounters. Sure enough, a few days after that I saw our friend being chased by one of the house cats and we never had the problem again.

Just another beautiful day in sunny L.A.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

